Rumford Prize 2018

April 8, 2019

Gero Miesenböck is among the recipients of the 2018 Rumford Prize. He is honoured for the invention of optogenetics, along with colleagues responsible for subsequent refinements.

The Rumford Prize, awarded by the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, is one of the oldest scientific prizes in the United States. It recognises contributions to the fields of ‘heat and light’, widely interpreted. Previous recipients include Josiah Willard Gibbs, Albert Michelson, Thomas Edison, Enrico Fermi and George Wald.